top of page

About the James Logan Award 

About the Award

The James Logan Award is given to a person who embodies the ideals of service, education, leadership, and excellence. It recognizes individuals whose considerable contributions have made a lasting impact in the Philadelphia region and  Pennsylvania.


James Logan (1674-1751) was a leading figure in colonial Pennsylvania. Logan was influential as a statesman, chief justice,  natural scientist, merchant, and scholar. Between 1723 and 1730, he built his country house, Stenton, now a historic house museum. Logan’s legacy lives on through the stewardship and programs of the NSCDA/PA.


The James Logan Award Dinner benefits Stenton and the History Hunters Youth Reporter Program. To date, this national award-winning educational program has helped more than 40,000 underserved Philadelphia school children learn about their history through a year-long series of visits to four national historic landmarks and an art museum in Germantown.

Past James Logan Award Recipients:

Luther Brady

Gail Harrity 

Jane Pepper

Dodo Hamilton

Alice Lea Tasman

Edith Dixon

bottom of page